Frequently Asked Questions

Open All Tabs
  • Who founded Iron Arrow?

    The first President of the University of Miami, Bowman Foster Ashe, the first registered student, Francis S. Houghtaling, and Chief Tony Tommie, the then recognized leader of the Everglades Seminoles (an agglomeration of the modern day Miccosukee and Seminole tribes, who banded together in their struggle to maintain their freedom from the US military). These three key figures are joined by eight other students at the organization’s founding and the first nine student members are known as the “Founding Nine.”

  • When was Iron Arrow founded?

    Iron Arrow was founded in November 1926, the founding year of the University of Miami.

  • What is the purpose of Iron Arrow?

    From its inception, the sole purpose of Iron Arrow is the protection, improvement, and general welfare of the University.

  • Can I nominate myself for consideration to selection into Iron Arrow?

    No. Self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations to membership can only come from members of the organization. Iron Arrow does accept community recommendations however - from any member of the UM community, in consideration for nominations.

  • Who is eligible for Iron Arrow?

    Junior and Senior undergraduates, Graduate students (including law and medical students), alumni, faculty, administration, staff and board of trustee members. Iron Arrow also recognizes and supports young and rising student leadership through the David McDonald Iron Arrow Sophomore Leadership Award and Scholarship.

  • What are the criteria for membership in Iron Arrow?

    In no particular order or primacy, the criteria for membership are Scholarship, Leadership, Character, Love of Alma Mater, and Humility.

  • How many people have been admitted to Iron Arrow?

    The current member roster stands at 2,885 (as of June 2021), with roughly 52% women and 48% men, which is remarkable considering that women were not admitted until 1985. As far as we are aware there are 1,980 living members at the present time.