Sophomore Leadership Award and Scholarship

Created by Chief Elizabeth Rodriguez in 1989, the Iron Arrow Sophomore Leadership Award and Scholarship aims to recognize emerging leaders who, early in their UM careers, exemplify the criteria of Iron Arrow. Presented annually, the recipient is selected based on leadership, scholarship, and service to the University of Miami.

Nominations forms will be made available in the Spring semester. Typically, nominations should include:

  • A nominee who has between 30-59 credits
  • Listing of Activities & Leadership Positions Held
  • Listing of Scholarships, Awards, & Honors
  • Contact Information for 2 References - with at least 1 being University affiliated
  • A typed statement of description that explains the nominee’s contributions to the University and how the nominee embodies the 5 qualities of Iron Arrow: Character, Leadership, Humility, Scholarship, and Love of Alma Mater

If you are interested in supporting this scholarship award, please consider giving to the Iron Arrow Sophomore Leadership Award. 

Sophomore Leadership Award Recommendations

Sophomore Leadership Award Recipients

1989 Philip Needles
1990 Christian Davis
1991 Winston Warrier
1992 Rochelle Rubin
1993 Roger Kline
1994 Sean O’Reilly
1995 Jason Lane
1996 Jonathan Brill
1997 Andrew Paul
1998 Kathryn Krueger
1999 Sarahdia Kernizan
2000 Ryan J. McDavis
2001 James Pascual
2002 Lesley Ann Brown
2003 Shannon Ashford
2004 Christie M. Creamean
2005 Nitin Aggarwal & Ramiro Muñoz
2006 Zoe Schwartz
2007 Shajena Erazo & Claudia Medina
2008 Lionel Moise
2009 Ramon Galiana & Jane Pryjmak
2010 Jake Krupa
2011 Nawara Alawa
2012 Dylan Malitsky & Meera Nagarsheth
2013 Stanley “Brad” Bradshaw & Nicole Garcia
2014 Valeria Quirk
2015 Ashley Pittaluga
2016 Roderick “Rod” Dunlap
2017 Alex Klar
2018 Millie Chokshi